Dr. Eugene Eung-Chun Park Named 2024 GTU Excellence in Teaching Award Winner

Dr. Eugene Eung-Chun Park Named 2024 GTU Excellence in Teaching Award Winner

BERKELEY, CA—May 13, 2024— The Graduate Theological Union (GTU) is pleased to announce that Dr. Eugene Eung-Chun Park, Dana and David Dornsife Professor of New Testament, has been selected as the recipient of the GTU Excellence in Teaching Award for 2024. The honor was announced at the GTU Commencement exercises on May 9. 

The Excellence in Teaching Award is presented annually to a member of the GTU’s core doctoral faculty who exemplifies the values of interreligious sensitivity and commitment, takes an interdisciplinary approach, embraces ethnic and cultural diversity, and employs creative and effective pedagogical methods. 

"For decades, Dr. Park has been a vital member of the Sacred Texts and Their Interpretation Department, advising students and teaching courses in their original languages,” said Dr. Jennifer W. Davidson, Dean and Vice President for Academic Affairs. “The selection committee was impressed with Dr. Park's active involvement in the classroom, where his students praise his interreligious sensitivity and commitment to diversity." 

In his teaching and research, Dr. Park primarily focuses on studying the New Testament, combining historical and theological perspectives while emphasizing the importance of diversity. He delves into the contextual influences on the New Testament writers, exploring how their interpretations of faith were shaped by existential realities. His works include The Mission Discourse in Matthew's Interpretation (1995), Either Jew or Gentile: Paul's Unfolding Theology of Inclusivity (2003), and Rooted and Grounded in Love (2001), which was used for bible study material by the Presbyterian Church (USA).  

Additionally, he is an ordained minister with ties to both the Presbyterian Church (USA) and Korean Presbyterian Churches in the US and Korea. 

“I used to think one’s belief and academic endeavors were two separate domains, but I have shed that idea,” shared Dr. Park. “I now realize that my belief system has been influenced by my scholarly pursuits, albeit mostly unbeknownst to myself.” 

The GTU Excellence in Teaching Award was instituted in 2003. Previous winners include Dr. Ted F. Peters (2023), Dr. Devin P. Zuber (2022), Dr. Mary E. McGann (2021), Dr. Rebecca K. Esterson (2020), Dr. Arthur Holder (2019), and Dr. Jean-François Racine (2018).   

To read an interview with Dr. Park about this recognition, head to the GTU Voices blog.