Schools and Centers

The Graduate Theological Union, created in 1962, is a consortium of interdependent theological schools, centers, and affiliates committed to collaboration with one another in order to offer a stronger graduate degree program than any single institution could offer alone.

The GTU confers the academic degrees of Master of Arts and Doctor of Philosophy. Each of the eight member schools offers other degrees such as the Master of Divinity, Master of Theological Studies, and Doctor of Ministry. The GTU also provides opportunities not available in a single school setting through a variety of centers, institutes, and programs. This unique multi-religious partnership creates a learning environment that is rich in academic and cultural diversity.

Students enrolled at the GTU or any of its member schools have the opportunity to choose from among more than 700 courses offered across the consortium each year. With 8 member schools, 5 academic centers, and 5 affiliates, the GTU is one of the largest theological consortiums in the world.