Access the latest, most up-to-date COVID-19 resources, policies, and news for faculty, students, and staff of the GTU, including guidance for staying safe as we reopen here>>

Executive Team

Executive Team

Uriah Y. Kim is the President of the GTU and John Dillenberger Professor of Biblical Studies. He earned his PhD in Biblical Studies from the GTU, and also holds an MDiv from Princeton Theological Seminary, a ThM from Candler School of Theology of Emory University, and a BA in philosophy from New York University. He is the author of Decolonizing Josiah: Toward a Postcolonial Reading of the Deuteronomistic History (Sheffield Phoenix Press, 2005) and Identity and Loyalty in the David Story: A Postcolonial Reading (Sheffield Phoenix Press, 2008), and is co-editor of Handbook of Asian American Biblical Hermeneutics (T&T Clark, 2019). He loves to drive on the scenic roads of California with his wife.


Our Chief Strategy Officer, Sephora Markson, brings to the GTU expertise in marketing and communications, as well as a scholarly background in religious studies, holding a BA in Religious Studies from UC Berkeley and an MTS from Harvard Divinity School. She’s worked with Fortune 1000 companies, start-ups, and internationally recognized nonprofits, and served as Senior Director of Marketing and Recruitment at The New School in New York, where she led the launch of Open Campus, the university’s destination for continuing, online and professional education, and also earned a Global Executive Master’s in Strategic Design and Management. When she’s not working to help students pursue their dreams, you can find her running in Tilden State Park, taking a yoga class, or exercising her creativity as a writer, singer, collage artist, and adventurer.

Colyn Wohlmut is the GTU's Interim Director of Library Services. Colyn has worked in academic libraries for nearly 20 years. She earned her BA in Music from San Francisco State University, her Master's in Library Sciences from San Jose State University, and an MA in Book Conservation from the University of Arts, London. The first 10 years of her career in libraries was spent at Stanford University's Green Library, in the Humanities Resource Group. After leaving to pursue a specialty in conservation and rare books, she ran the London Contemporary Dance School Library before returning to the US. Before being welcomed at the GTU, she worked for the California State Library, Sutro Library.

Elizabeth S. Peña is the GTU’s Interim Dean and Vice President for Academic Affairs. She also serves as the Director of the Center for the Arts & Religion and Doug Adams Gallery, and Senior Lecturer in Art, Anthropology, and Museum Studies. She earned PhD and MA degrees in Archaeology from Boston University and a BA in Classical Archaeology from the University of Michigan.  As an archaeologist, arts administrator, and museum professional, she has directed archaeological field projects, managed academic departments, served as museum curator, undertaken a wide range of museum consulting projects, and participated in review panels for federal funding agencies and professional organizations. She has taught courses in archaeology, anthropology, and museum studies; at the GTU, she teaches on topics related to museums and religion, material culture theory, and object based learning. In her spare time, she is likely to be found reading or gardening. 

Ellen Peterson is the GTU’s Chief Financial Officer, where her responsibilities include oversight of finance, budget, audit and regulatory reporting, accounting, bursar services, endowments and investments. She holds a BS in Accounting from University of Denver and an MA in Organizational Psychology from John F. Kennedy University, and an active CPA. Before coming to the GTU consortium as business manager for Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary in 1998, and then becoming the GTU’s controller in 2005, she held several positions for a national homebuilder. When not in the office, Ellen enjoy walks with her dog, gardening, and pastel art.


Marie Lucero is the GTU’s Chief Operating Officer, where her responsibilities include oversight of facilities, information technology, human resources, and enterprise risk management. Marie also serves as the Chief Title IX Officer for the institution. She has spent her career working in higher education, supporting students through their educational journeys. Before coming to the GTU, Marie served as Operations Manager for the Berkeley Student Cooperative, a non-profit housing provider that removes barriers to higher education for low-income and traditionally marginalized students. She holds an MA in Education Administration and a BA in Economics from the University of Redlands. When she’s not working Marie can be found on a run, exploring local hiking trails, watching a sporting event, or coaching her son’s baseball team.