Access the latest, most up-to-date COVID-19 resources, policies, and news for faculty, students, and staff of the GTU, including guidance for staying safe as we reopen here >>

Navigating the Urgent Transition Toward Sustainability

Wednesday, April 6th 2022, 1:00pm
Online Event, 2400 Ridge Rd Berkeley, CA 94709

The Wilmette Institute, in collaboration with the Graduate Theological Union (GTU) is pleased to present two free Spring 2022 lectures for students of GTU and, UC Berkley, as well as the Wilmette Institute.

The science says that the affluent are the most responsible for the existential challenges of climate change, the biodiversity crisis and pollution threats and that we must turn the corner in this decade before these crises lead to catastrophe. Governments have already, in the Sustainable Development Goals, the Paris Agreement and other texts, mapped out a plan forward. The failure is in implementation due to the power of vested interests, corruption, materialist ideologies and the lack of political will faced with the necessary material sacrifices. Only a just transition motivated by ethical and spiritual values at the grass roots can lay the foundations for a more meaningful and sustainable social order offering a positive way forward through the turmoil of the inevitably difficult transition.

Rebecca Teclemariam-Mesbah, Wilmette Institute Adjunct Faculty for its course on Sustainability and Human Prosperity, will host this online presentation.

Date/Time: Wednesday, April 6th, 1 pm Pacific (4 pm Eastern)

See also Michael Karlberg, “Responding to Injustice with Constructive Agency,” March 16, 2022 at 6 pm Pacific (9 pm Eastern).

To attend, register here.

 

This event is online only